Lena Horne receiving her Drama Desk Award in 1981.

June 8, 2022 — 66th Annual Drama Desk Awards winners were announced today. The full list of nominees and winners are available here. The nominating committee’s special awards were announced along with the nominees on May 16, available in the original press release here.

This year’s Drama Desk Awards ceremony will be live for first time since the 2019 pre-pandemic ceremony. It will take place at Sardi’s Restaurant on June 14th from 3pm – 6pm, and will also be streamed.

In keeping with the Drama Desk’s mission, nominators considered shows that opened on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off Broadway between July 2, 2021 and May 1, 2022 for this year’s awards. Only live performances were eligible and if some performances were streamed, the production required 21 or more unique live performances for eligibility.

The Drama Desk Awards, which are presented annually, honor outstanding achievementby professional theater artists on Broadway, Off Broadway, and Off Off Broadway. The Awards are voted on and bestowed by theater critics, journalists, editors, and publishers covering theater.

The 2021-2022 Drama Desk Nominating Committee is composed of: Martha Wade Steketee (Chair; freelance), Peter Filichia (Broadway Radio), Kenji Fujishima (freelance: TheaterMania), Juan Michael Porter II (TheBody.com; freelance: TDF Stages, Did They Like It?, New York Theatre Guide), Ayanna Prescod (freelance: Variety, New York Theatre Guide, Today Tix), Zachary Stewart (TheaterMania), and Diep Tran (freelance: Backstage, American Theatre, BroadwayNews, New York Theater Guide).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s